Happy New Year!

I’m a little late to the game, but I’ve been too invested in starting my annual new year regime of having a big clear-out, but I hope 2015 was good to you, and that either way, 2016 is great.

In this post, I wanted to get a little more personal and post some of my reflections on 2015, what my aims for 2016 are and other general New Year guff that may just help you. I hope you like it!

2015 Reflections: 

  1. Memory Jar – To me, 2015 year was a big year for me (as it was the year I was finishing my education, celebrating my 18th Birthday and I had a few adventures I knew I wanted to take), so I decided to make a “memory jar”, where I wrote little notes of positive things that happened; some where major things like mentioned above, others were more minor like tweets from some of my favourite celebrities or simply enjoying a nice “Lush” bath on a bad day. It was really lovely getting to read back through a whole year of my life all at once on New Years Eve, it reminded me why it’s important to savour every moment and that there is always so much that can be explored and cherished. I really think everyone should do it at least once in their lifetime, as it gives you a challenge and keepsake. 
  2. I am strong – I won’t go into the extent of details of why I have to fight to find strength, and of course there were several days and periods where I felt I wasn’t strong because I’m only human and we all have our inner battles. However, on the whole I feel I’ve grown so much. I’ve grown in age, mind and with myself. I faced a few fears, such as learning to become more independent and venturing out alone, and I feel stronger because of it. And essentially, I made it through another year in good health. I still have a way to go until i’m fully satisfied, but I know I can do it. I hope and know you can too.
  3. Learning to live – I feel that I got to do a lot of things that I love and enjoy this year, as I found myself in a fortunate place where I am now older and more independent, I have a bit more money than I used to, great friends and family to share things with and the odd exciting opportunity that gave me perks of the job. I’m so grateful, as I always longed for that time in my life and I love the excitement and adrenalin of planned or spontaneous adventures. I hope I continue to be able to keep it up, and I wish that you all get to have fun too.

2016 Goals: 

  1. Become more focused – This is something I struggled with this year, as I found it too easy to laze around and spend lots of time doing part 3 of “2015 Reflections” (which was great obviously and I do want to keep it up) however I think I need to focus my priorities and start chasing my career more. I’ve just been a little lost on my direction of how to get there, but I won’t know unless I try harder. Therefore, I aim to remember to balance the work and the fun, as both are of equal importance but I want and need to achieve a career.
  2. Be more helpful – I’m talking in terms of around the house, as I know I’m slacking on the “being useful” side, therefore I aim to cook more, help with housework chores a lot more and contribute money where possible. I think I just lack motivation, but I’m determined to find more, as it’s only fair and invaluable life skills.
  3. Love myself – Generally, I’m rather satisfied with myself but I know I could do with making a few changes, so I want to start eating healthier, become less lazy, exercise more/tone-up and continue facing my fears. I think the more I push myself into doing these things, the happier I will be with myself and in general. Learning to love yourself is one of the hardest challenges, but we need to love ourselves in order to let love in, so I hope this is something I can at least half-achieve.

I hope these points somehow give you a few ideas and inspirations for the New Year! Go and live your lives, have fun and be happy!

 

