A little late, but better late than never! The other day I went to see “The Danish Girl”, and many people have since been saying to me they want to see it too, and I would highly recommend it, so here’s my review as to why you should see it!

To summarise the story, “The Danish Girl”, set in the mid-1920s, is a semi-biographical period drama, that’s based on the fictional novel of the same name and is loosely inspired by the lives of Danish painters Lili Elbe (also known as Einar Wegener, portrayed by Eddie Redmayne) and Gerda Wegener (played by Alicia Vikander). The film showcases the struggles of Einar and his wife Gerda upon realising the fact he believes he is a woman trapped inside a male body, therefore his new identity of Lili Elbe becomes one of the first known recipients of sex reassignment (transgender) surgery.

Upon initially seeing the trailer a few months prior to release, I was keen to see it. Partially because I have enjoyed Eddie Redmayne’s previous work (and find him oddly-attractive!), but more importantly because I love biographical or reality-based dramas films of this kind (such as the recent Theory of Everything, Cake, Suffragette & Still Alice). I love that I can be educated through the medium of film and have my eyes opened to subjects I tend to know little about.

If you’re in agreement of the above point, then this is a film that isn’t to be missed!

Firstly, I felt it was so beautifully cinematic: showcasing wonderful artwork, beautiful city-scapes from the likes of Paris, Copenhagen and Brussels and stunning period costumes. It seemed like there was an excellent attention to detail, and gave you a real sense of the style from the time-period.

Secondly, the story was heartwarming and heartbreaking all at the same time, whatever emotion the characters were feeling you simultaneously felt too. I was in tears at a few points, but equally overjoyed at other times. I found myself totally invested in the story, and understanding a lot more about how difficult these emotions, changes and situations can be for those involved, especially in that era.

Finally, the cast was spot-on, as once again I can understand why Eddie Redmayne is receiving plenty of award buzz, for he plays two completely different characters in one (and looks beautiful as both, of course!), but both feel so realistic and effortless. Equally, Alicia Vikander was surprisingly impressive. I had never seen any of her work before, so had no prior expectations but I think she is definitely a rising talent to be watched! Other notable mentions include: Ben Whishaw & Amber Heard who also gave great performances.

I hope you all find the time get to see this class piece of cinema, and may you always find the courage to be yourself.

 

