d6919-hello2bmy2bname2bis2b2

You may or may not remember I did a similar post to this early last month (see here) and now I’ve got a second part!

My previous post ended up focusing on my experience as a “fangirl”, and how over the years I’ve been able to gain recognition from some of my favourite celebrities and have an enjoyable experience in this “way of life” (so to speak).

However, this time I’m going to focus on the fact of why being a fangirl is important to me, and helps make me “me”.

Just to give you some context, I don’t really know how or why this life chose me, but it did and it happened about 10 years ago, now I couldn’t imagine myself any other way.

  1. Always inspired – To many it probably sounds lame, but I always feel inspired. I know that at the end of the day, they’re just people doing a job. However, many of these people can use their positions of “fame” for great things. Such as being able to donate large sums of money to charities, helping raise awareness of important causes or even becoming patrons of/setting-up their own charities/causes, and using their voice for positive messages/advice. Also, the reason I like something is usually because they or their work has connected to me personally, maybe they went through a similar situation to you, their personality reminds you of yourself or the person you would like to be more like, their lyrics relate to you or their films simply support your interests. Whatever the reason, there’s nothing wrong with feeling inspired by others, in fact I believe it can push you to be better.
  2. Making new friends – This tends to happen when you establish yourself as part of a fanbase or attend events. I’m only really involved with a few fanbases, but it’s so lovely meeting like-minded people, even if it’s only online. It’s just great to have a few people to share your interests with. I’ve actually made several friends over the years, some I’ve lost contact with but there’s still a few who I talk to quite a bit and have gone on to meet, and I can’t imagine a time when I didn’t have them in my life now. Though sometimes, even if your friends don’t have exactly the same interests, but have similar feelings to other celebrities, this can make an easy bond too as you both understand the feeling of being a “fangirl”!
  3. The progression & rewarding side – This is pretty much what I touched on in the previous blog, but being a fangirl is something that progresses. You start off like “oh this person is cool” so you start to look into their life/interviews/work/etc a little more, and the next thing you know you just adore them. Then if you’re fortunate enough and can put in the effort in, you may end up forming a relationship with them as you interact through social media or go and see/meet them. It’s quite fun watching your fan levels progress, and that your efforts of support can become really rewarding. I mean It’s so great to know that you can just support them both personally and professionally, because at the end of the day, they couldn’t do their jobs if there weren’t people supporting them. (Though please note: you must always be respectful. Liking somebody just for attention isn’t what being a fan is all about, you should genuinely support the person in question. Also, gaining their attention isn’t the most important thing).
  4. Without them, I wouldn’t be me – It’s strange, but true. I couldn’t imagine myself if I didn’t love celebrities. As I explained before, I don’t know why I became so into celebrity culture. (Also, don’t get me wrong- because there are also many elements of it that I dislike). However, I think that the “fangirl lifestyle” gets a bad reputation, and we are often classed as “immature teen girls” or similar, but I think that’s unfair because it’s no different to anyone else with interests, such as people who always go to football matches or who adore baking or gardening. Also, like football fans, “fangirls” come in many different forms but they’re all there for the same reason: it’s just something that makes them happy. And surely that’s all that matters?

I hope you found this little personal yak interesting! Let me know if you’re a “fangirl”, and if you’ve faced people that fail to understand it? Who is your favourite celebrity, and why?

