I noticed that Cineworld were doing a ‘previews’ weekend of the latest Disney ‘classic’, “Zootropolis” so as a self-confessed Disney nerd, I decided to take myself along, and I thought I’d share my thoughts.

Zootropolis (also know as Zootopia) is set-out like a mammal metropolis, where various species of both predator and prey can live and thrive in harmony. The setting is similar to many cities, like New York or London, but instead, adapted for every animal as there are a range of districts that suit each animals natural habitation (i.e. there’s the rainforest district, and ice district as well as the main city).

The focus of the story begins with Judy Hopps (Ginnifer Goodwin), the unlikely hero as the first bunny cop. She fights hard to earn her place, but never gives up, despite endless push-backs. She soon meets the enemy, in the form of fox Nick Wilde (Jason Bateman) who makes her job tougher but soon becomes one to be on her side.

Together, they go on a mission to solve the biggest crime case of Zootropolis.

Initially, I was sceptical of the film as I felt the adverts weren’t really selling a story, apart from stating the fact it was a city of talking animated animals that involved a police officer rabbit and friendly fox (which in fairness, is probably enough to win me over as i’m such a big kid), however it exceeded my expectations and hit me harder than I expected.

Without wanting to spoil too much of the plot, it is simply a story that reiterates that you can be anything you want to be if you’re prepared to work for it. Both lead characters have their flaws, and their reasoning behind it, but with the way they work together they help each other and their city. I’d also seen other people saying it has a good voice for anti discrimination, through the range of characters and certain messages in the film. Therefore, it carries a really powerful message through-out, but especially at the end. In fact, I actually found myself shedding a tear because even though it’s only a cartoon it just resonated as a message everyone can hear and relate to, whether they were 8 or 80.

I also expected it to be a bit of a simple story, but actually I found myself completely gripped with the action and the comedy. A lot of the comedy came through puns, with animal versions of everyday items or words, but also through the characters. It was also much more action packed than I anticipated, one part nearly had me jump out of my skin! My only flaw is that I did begin to crack a section of the case halfway through, but I still found myself surprised at the unlikely villain.

It was held together by a great cast (including Idris Elba, J.K. Simmons, Jenny Slate & Shakira), exciting visuals (it’s also viewable in 3D, and I could definitely see that working!) and a lovely soundtrack (it included an exclusive uplifting song called “Try Everything” penned by Sia and sung by Shakira which I will be going on a search for!).

Finally, the thing that Disney does best: the lovable characters. I think everyone would want to be as kickass as Judy Hopps and as cool as Nick Wilde.

Overall, I would highly recommend giving Zootropolis a watch, and it might just inspire you to believe you can be anything you want to be. 

UK: Official release 25th of March 2016 / USA: Out now / Worldwide: Check IMDb

Bonus fact: For the fellow Disney nerds among us, see if you can spot the Easter Egg! 

