So, Easter Weekend has just happened, which meant a great 4 day weekend or the start of Easter Break (for the majority of us anyway- sorry if you had to work at some point over the period!)

What did I do with my time? Well, aside from eating crazy amounts of food (well, chocolate) and sleeping lots, I also caught up with friends and went on a binge watch of films & TV! Here’s a quick low-down of my watch list…

  1. The Good Dinosaur (2015) – I had planned to see this upon it’s release in the cinema, but I ended up not getting round to it and missing out. I realised the DVD just got released recently, and my friends were all keen to watch it too. I’m sad I didn’t see it sooner, but it was worth the wait. I fell in love with the characters and the story line. With a focus on fear, and finding the courage to push through the fear was a key focus, alongside showcasing the importance of friends, family and teamwork. I thought the characters were easy-to-love, it was a sweet story, stunning visuals, brave and featured classic Disney elements; I noticed references to Alice in Wonderland, The Little Mermaid/Princess & The Frog, Brother Bear/The Jungle Book & Lion King. All three of us really enjoyed it!
  2. The Boat That Rocked (2009) – It’s an older film that I simply missed or hadn’t got round to watching.  It seemed perfect for me as I love music and radio, and it’s focus was on the era of Pirate Radio. It’s a great piece of comedy and drama, with a star-studded cast, including Bill Nighy, Nick Frost,  Philip Seymour Hoffman, Gemma Arterton & Emma Thompson.
  3. The Intern (2015) – This was mentioned in my blog at the start of the month, here. While I had seen it once before, my friends hadn’t and it was something we all enjoyed. It’s just a great feel-good film about friendship and ambition, and something about De Niro and Hathaway just worked. 
  4. Freeheld (2016) – This was another film that I mentioned in my film haul” blog, and I finally got round to sitting down and watching it! While it is emotional and sad, it is such a sweet and powerful love story.  It showcased that when people come together, change can be made. I thought it seemed a great portrayal of a true story.
  5. The Great Mouse Detective (1986) – I noticed this was on TV, and I decided to watch it in a bid to relive my childhood. I still have it on video! While it’s not my favourite of Disney films, it’s still a great film with the anthem song of “Rattigan”. It was actually really scary in parts as a kid, but as always, you know it’ll turn out okay in the end.
  6. HOP (2011) – I remember seeing this in the cinema when it came out, and I believe I watched it last Easter too. It’s a mixture of live action & animation, from Illumination Entertainment, held together by a good cast and filled with lot’s of comedy (puns, innuendos and tons of sarcasm especially!) and great for getting you into the spirit of Easter!

I’ve also been watching… Retrospective, The Man That Married Himself (Short Films), The Graham Norton Show, The Alan Carr Show and Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Take Away (TV) and my usual Youtube catch-up of various clips of my favourite celebrities and the latest film adverts.

And knowing me, i’ll no doubt find one more thing to end the extended weekend with, it’s just a case of deciding what to watch…

What have you done with your weekend? Let me know!

Oh, and finally, Happy Easter and time to say hello to Summer (well Spring)! 🙂

