Sadly, I’m not as good at reading as I used to be, not because I can’t but simply because I struggle in finding the motivation and focus to do so. However, this idea came to my head in a way of trying something different, so I thought I would take in some nostalgia and give you my favourite childhood reads, and maybe it will inspire you to remember yours or pass some of my (or your) favourites onto a new generation, if you haven’t already!

  • Anything Roald Dahl – I would say the obvious, like the likes of Charlie & The Chocolate Factory, The Witches, The Twits (etc) are my favourites. However, I loved everything about his books: the stories, the characters, the writing, the illustrations and the messages/morals. I remember I went on a mission to try and read every book of his, and I came pretty close, there was only a couple I didn’t get round too! Of course there are some great film adaptations too. I believe every kid needs some Roald Dahl!

  • Anything Dr Suess – Again, you have to love the obvious with the likes of Green Eggs and Ham, The Grinch and The Cat In The Hat. I can’t actually recall reading many other specific stories, but I recall having a “best of” type book, with stories and poems, which I loved. I adored that whole rhythmic rhyming and craziness, it also gave some great morals/messages. I also love many of the film adaptations too. Similar to Mr Dahl, I think every kid needs a little bit of Dr Seuss!

  • Little Miss & Mr Men collection – I was obsessed with these stories! I was a full-on collector; brand new or second hand, I didn’t care, I just loved collecting them and reading them. I even had a storage case, and may have even came to collect a signed version of one story! They are short and sweet stories, with a whole host of interesting characters and morals. I don’t know what it is that makes them so lovable, maybe it’s because their names cover people’s personalities and qualities- but they’re great, timeless little shorts!

  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar – This is very much the younger end of my childhood, and it’s a book that spans generations, but I think it’s a must have for any child, with it’s simple story and wonderful drawings. I also have a particular memory attached to this book, because when I was in Nursery, we did a “play” (well, story telling) of it. I have no idea what food I was, but for some reason that memory has stuck with me!

 

  • Animal Ark & Rainbow Magic collections – I don’t know what it was about both of these book collections that I loved so much, maybe it was just the fact I have always adored animals and fairies! I read them for several years in my Primary School years though, I can’t even remember much about them… just that there was several animal or fairy adventures to be read about!

  • The Story of the Mole (who knew it was none of his business) – This just proves that for a while, me and my family were perhaps slightly immature… However it is a very funny and silly little book about a Mole who had someone poo on his head and he goes on a trail of who done it! It has actually become a relatively successful book I believe, and we all need a little humour and silliness in our childhood!

  • Other notable mentions: Classic fairytales (such as Hansel & Gretel, Red Riding Hood) , Any Disney classic books (like Mary Poppins, Alice in Wonderland), Poetry (I just loved poetry as a kid!), The Gruffalo, The Spot Books (cutest dog!), Peter Rabbit & Charlie & Lola.

So there we have it, just a few of the books I loved as a child! What were your favourites? Have you been able to pass them on to younger generations in your family? Will you, when the time comes? Let me know!

*Images: Credit to Google

