I finally did it, I released my inner movie nerd and finally signed myself up for the brilliant “Unlimited” card scheme with Cineworld. Therefore, for a set-price over the next 12 months, I can enjoy as many films I want!

As well as that, I’m still doing the best I can to keep up with some exciting TV shows, so following on from my Easter Weekend Film Bingehere’s the latest “watch list”.

Also, as something a bit different, I’ve added my latest music obsessions of the last week/month too!

Film: 

Eddie The Eagle – The first use of my Unlimited Cineworld card had to start somewhere, so I encouraged my parents to join me in what was described by many as a great feel-good film.

I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect, I had just seen the endless promotions on TV, radio and buses around my town and I had enjoyed the cast interviews that I had caught. I also knew that I have a tendency to enjoy films based on true stories or that cover the comedy/drama genres, so it seemed like it was on to a winner.

Eddie the Eagle is based on the true story of Eddie Edwards, who was the first person to compete at Ski Jumping for Britain in at the 1988 Winter Olympics.

I think the thing that made this film great for me, was the overwhelming sense of passion and determination that Eddie had, because no matter what, he never let anyone push him down, despite their efforts.

I found myself completely in awe of this brilliant character/person and unique story, and I was on his side from the start right until the end.

Equally, I have great respect for Taron Egerton’s portrayal of the character, I don’t think anyone else could have pulled it off like he could. Similarly, the relationship he and Hugh Jackman on-screen worked perfectly. Their characters really showcased the importance of friendship.

If you fancy a relatively easy-watch for the whole family to enjoy, with great heart and moments of drama and comedy throughout, this is the film to see.

Out now.

The Hunstman: Winters War – I hold my hands up, and I have to admit I haven’t actually seen the first film ‘Snow White and The Huntsman’, but I had heard reviews for this second installment claiming this was much better, funnier and more of a prequel.

Therefore, I thought I would rid my curiosity and as I had little else to do, I thought i’d take advantage of my new Cineworld Card again.

The thing that intrigued me firstly was the cast, as it has a very strong cast. I especially love Emily Blunt’s work anyway, so was keen to see how she played an Ice Queen, I have also enjoyed Jessica Chastain’s interviews but not seen much of her work, and you can’t help a bit of eye-candy in the form of Chris Hemsworth. But, there was lots of other exciting appearances too in the form of Charlize Theron, Nick Frost, Sheridan Smith, Rob Brydon and Sam Claflin to name a few.

And I thought they were all brilliant, especially the comedy that Nick, Sheridan & Rob brought to it as the quick-witted dwarfs, who I must say, I may have lost my interest if it wasn’t for what they brought to it. I also thought there was some slightly ropey Scottish accents from Hemsworth & Chastain, though I could live with it.

As for the set, graphics and costumes, it simply made a visual spectacle. I only saw it in 2D but I could imagine it being even more exciting in 3D, especially if you were already a fan or are prone to a good Fantasy Drama story. I was in awe of the look of it.

The story itself may have been a little clearer to me in parts if I had seen the first film, however I still got the general grasp of it. In the simplest form, it told the tale of two evil sisters (Ice Queen/Freya and Ravenna, played by Blunt and Theron), who both want to take over the land, though our protagonists (Eric the Hunstman and Sara, played by Hemsworth and Chastain) set out to stop them.

It’s a slight stray away from the usual type of genre I go for, but it seemed to tick the boxes for all the things you expect to see in a film of this genre, as there was plenty of drama, action and fantasy, with hints of romance and comedy too. Therefore, I personally found it an enjoyable watch, and I left the cinema wanting to kick some ass!

Out now.

TV: 

The A Word – This is the family must-watch on a Tuesday night in our house, and it has taken over from the Happy Valley slot on BBC1, and it’s currently up to episode three of six.

But don’t let that put you off, because each episode is only an hour long so there’s still time to catch up on BBC iPlayer, or you could wait another three weeks when it’s more than likely to be released on DVD shortly after.

But back to the show, The A Word is a drama series about a family who have just learnt that their son (and brother/grandchild/nephew) is on the autism spectrum and it takes you through how they deal with that news, as well as facing their own issues.

While I admit, I actually find some of the characters very irritating, but I think that’s the way it’s meant to be as it gets you more emotionally invested. However, as it’s only half way through, there may be a chance for those characters to change.

Plus, it is a great cast with the likes of Christopher Eccleston, Lee Ingleby and Morven Christie.

Overall, it’s an exciting drama that i’m sure many families can relate to in one way or another. It’s also great that it’s bringing Autism to people’s attention.

On BBC One, Tuesday 9pm, or BBC iPlayer.

Marcella – The first of eight episodes aired on ITV Monday (4th), so in all honesty I’m slightly limited in what I can tell you because if not I would either spoil the plot, or I just don’t actually know where it’s headed yet!

However, it made a strong start. It’s a crime drama/thriller detective series, that I didn’t realise until researching for this blog, is actually scandinavian (but in English).

As described on IMDb, Marcella Backland sacrificed her high-flying career with the Metropolitan Police for her family… only to have her husband leave her. She returns to her job on the murder squad and ends up investigating a case that seems disturbingly familiar to her.

While the adverts are labelling her (Marcella) as a detective, suspect and witness.

Personally, I can’t wait to see where it heads!

ITV, Monday 9pm. You can catch up on ITV player now, or if you’re outside of the UK it is due to be aired on Netflix shortly after it has been aired here.

Music –

Gwen Stefani – This Is What The Truth Feels Like (Album), Kinky Boots – Official West End Cast Recording (Album), Finding Neverland – Official Broadway Cast Recording (Album), The 1975 – ILIWYSFYASBYSUOI (Album), The Last Shadow Puppets – Everything You’ve Come To Expect (Album) & Tom Odell – Wrong Crowd (Single) –  For a further insight into what I listen to, check out my Spotify and it’s playlists.

