…So far!

Music is something that means a great deal to me, as it does to many. I couldn’t imagine a day or life without it. Therefore, I thought I would give an insight into my varying music taste by counting down my favourites of 2016, ones to look out for and some of my all time favourites, as a bit of a continuation from this post from January.

First of all, I’ll give you an insight into what I’ve been playing in 2016…

  • The 1975, I Like It When You Sleep For You Are So Beautiful, Yet So Unaware Of It  This second album definitely did not let the fans down. (Myself being one!).While the band have stuck to a similar style to their first album, yet something about this album feels so fresh. I’m really pleased they’re having such great success with it, as they deserve it. 3 of my favourite tracks are The Sound, This Must Be My Dream and She’s American. 
  • Gwen Stefani, This Is What The Truth Feels Like  I’ve always rather enjoyed Gwen Stefani’s music, though I wasn’t sure whether I would pick up this album or not, but after hearing the lead single Make Me Like You a few times, I was keen to give it a try and i’m glad I did because there’s some great tunes on there. My 3 favourite tracks are Make Me Like You, Used To Love You and Truth. 
  • Rihanna, ANTI – It’s rare that a Rihanna album goes by without me taking a listen… (okay well maybe I didn’t really get into Unapologetic from 2012 if you exclude the singles) so this was no different, and it’s not half bad. I still hold Rated R as her best, but it’s everything you’d expect from a Rihanna. The best songs in my opinion are Kiss It Better, Desperado and Yeah, I Said It. 
  • Beyonce, LEMONADE – Initially, unlike the rest of the world, I wasn’t that bothered about this album because the single Formation didn’t really sell it to me, however as I started hearing some tracks on the radio I caved and decided to give it a listen and I’ve actually grown to really like. Similar to Rihanna, it’s pretty much what you expect from a Beyonce album, though there were a few twists with featured artists like Jack White and a song with a country twist. My 3 favourite tracks are Hold Up, Daddy Lessons and Don’t Hurt Yourself (though Sandcastles is a brilliant ballad too).
  • The Last Shadow Puppets, Everything You’ve Come To Expect – I kept hearing a song called Aviation on the radio that sounded awfully familiar, and upon a quick google I soon discovered it was Alex Turner from The Arctic Monkeys under a ‘new’ band with Miles Kane, that actually isn’t that new. However, this appears to be the most successful of their songs, so I quickly found the album and was pleased to find some great tracks. It of course sounds rather similar to Arctic Monkeys, but I don’t mind it. My favourite tracks are Aviation, Sweet Dreams TN and Bad Habits. 
  • Anything Musical – Okay so maybe that’s a little broad, but I’m always listening to songs or soundtracks from musicals because they’re SO MUCH FUN! I love pretending i’m part of the show, being overly dramatic and belting along. While I’ve only picked up one 2016 release (which is the West End Cast Recording of Kinky Boots by the way, in case you wanted to know), I have found a few other new (but pre-2016 released) additions like Finding Neverland and The Last Five Years. Even though majority of the musical tracks I listen to I’ve had for a while now, I do tend to listen to them almost daily so I figured it was worth adding. Here you can find a Spotify playlist of show tunes I created!

Here are some to watch out for in 2016…

  • Tom Odell, Wrong Crowd He’s gradually been releasing singles and tracks in a teaser build up to his album that’s being released on the 10th June. I’ve been loving what I’ve been hearing and I think it will be another great album.. and there’s not too much longer to wait!
  • P!NK – Alright, so there’s nothing set in stone but it had been a while since her last album and she’s released the brilliant track “Just Like Fire” for Disney’s “Alice Through The Looking Glass”, as well as recording another song for them called “White Rabbit”, and have done the theme song for the Ellen (Degeneres) show too. Therefore it seems likely there could be an album cooking… but when is the question!
  • Lady Gaga – She has been in the studio, and fans are very keen to hear from her as it’s been a while since she’s released music. Who knows when it will be though… It seems likely to be this year though, here’s hoping!
  • Busted – This is all a big question mark, but with a recent drop of a free single, called Coming Home (which isn’t half bad by the way!), and they’ve just started their tour. Could they be doing an album too?
  • I’m also looking out for music from Cheryl and Katy Perry because aside from the fact they are some of my favourites, neither have released music in a while and Cheryl has admitted to being in the studio, though it’s unclear whether it will be 2016.

As for my all time favourites…

  • Anything Katy Perry, Girls Aloud/Cheryl – Okay so I appreciate this is another thing that is extremely broad, but I cannot commit myself to one album, but these three have been my biggest music loves for the longest period of time. I’ve tended to follow them very strongly… with Girls Aloud/Cheryl it was from 2008, and Katy was since about 2009. Therefore all their albums (well actually, their entire back catalogue) mean a lot to me, and I have many memories attached to various songs and albums.
  • Anything Musical – Well, it’s the same as before really! Musicals fill me with so much joy as there’s a song for everything, and I can’t really pin point a favourite as I play them to reflect my mood or the style of music that I want, plus I have such a vast and varied collection from the pop sounds of Mamma Mia! to the drama of Les Mis to the edginess of The Rocky Horror Picture Show. I think that’s the beauty of musicals, there’s something for everyone- whether they want to admit it or not.
  • Anything Disney – Another one that is very broad, but it is totally IMPOSSIBLE to pin point select films, because I tend to have select songs from various films that I adore… but in total I have about 4 albums of Disney Compilations and 5 soundtracks (though 3 are High School Musical soundtracks) on my iTunes. These songs mean a lot to me because much like Musicals (which essentially they are under that category too) they are just so much fun, with something for every emotion.. but also it’s the fact I’ve grown up with them. I have known and loved majority of them for as long as I can remember. As well as continuing to enjoy new releases like Frozen (which has an incredible Soundtrack)!
  • Idina Menzel, I Stand  This album only came into my life within the last few years, but I couldn’t be more grateful for discovering it. The words speak volumes to me, and I can’t even put it into words how much I adore this album.
  • Ashley Tisdale, Headstrong This may seem an absolutely crazy choice, and i’ll hold my hands up and say it’s NOT something I listen to a great deal now but it was an album that got me through some rough patches at the time of it’s release and it still holds some really important messages. At the time, I was a fanatic of the High School Musical franchise and I was a huge Ashley Tisdale fan she was a big inspiration to me so it really meant a lot to me. Therefore, even though I’ve moved on from that time, i’m still grateful for having it in my life.
  • Other artists I love to dip into listening to include… The 1975 (as mentioned earlier), Lana Del Rey, P!NK, Tom Odell, Lady Gaga, Arctic Monkeys, Rihanna, Beyonce, Kylie, Ed Sheeran and Taylor Swift. 
  • I’ve also grown up with the likes of… Avril Lavigne, Kelly Clarkson, Gwen Stefani (as mentioned earlier), Green Day, Blondie and Amy Winehouse. 

The beauty of music, is that there are no limits. You don’t have to box yourself into liking one artist, or one genre… it’s okay to be broad and like whatever it is that you like. It’s okay to change tastes.

This is merely an insight into the type of stuff I listen to, but I could go on and on listing songs and artists.

Just enjoy the music… and share your favourites with me too! Am I missing something great? Do you share the same music tastes as me? Let me know!

