We all need a little bit of “chick flick” in our lives (yes, you males too!), so I thought i’d compile a list of 15 of my favourite girls night in films (though it’s usually just me, crying by myself), mixing up the classics with some underrated gems.

Here goes…

  1. Mamma Mia! – I know I’ve written about this quite a few times, but I cannot express my love for this film. If ever i’m down, this is one of the films I turn to as it’s filled with joy and energy. Perfect for a girls night in sing-along! Who doesn’t want to be a dynamo?
  2. Notting Hill / Pretty Woman – I’m torn between these two Julia Roberts 90s classics, as I adore both and they’re both “go to” films of mine. They’re quite different, but with similar concepts of boy meets girl in a unlikely match made in heaven.
  3. The Proposal – Another one of my “go-to” films, full of brilliant comedy that warms the heart. A cold-hearted boss and her loyal PA find love in an unconventional way…
  4. Bridget Jones’ Diary – The one woman who fully speaks for ladies everywhere, always getting herself into wild situation. I like to think we all have an inner Bridget!
  5. It’s Complicated – Films by Nancy Meyers are some of the best, and this is probably my favourite from her… A great comedy about an older women (played fabulously by Meryl Streep) torn between her ex and a new man in her life.
  6. Love and Other Drugs – I watched this only recently for the first time, and I fell in love. By the end, I was a blubbering mess. A twist on a typical romance film, and it proves that love requires commitment.
  7. Eat Pray Love – A married women realises she’s unhappy with her life, so divorces and takes herself travelling to find a new direction in life. Something about this film seems so relatable, and it’s beautifully done.
  8. Grease – Is there anyone who hasn’t seen this film? It’s a timeless classic, and there’s not much to say other than who doesn’t love a bit of a Grease sing-along?!
  9. Two Weeks Notice – Sandra Bullock and Hugh Grant make an unlikely dream combination, again it’s a rather predictable story but still a great one!
  10. Laws Of Attraction – I only discovered this recently, and while it’s a fairly predictable rom-com, I personally loved it. With Julianne Moore and Pierce Brosnan starring, two opposing divorce lawyers find love.
  11. Beauty & The Beast – An animated Disney classic. In fairness, basically any Disney “princess” story could fill the gap, but I think this one wins it for me as it shows that you can find love where you don’t expect to and Disney reminds me of my childhood.
  12. Marley & Me – A heartbreaker, but an adorable story about family and a wild dog.
  13. Did You Hear About The Morgans? – An amusing tale of an estranged New York couple who are forced to reconnect after being sent into a witness-protection programme by accidentally witnessing a murder.
  14. Letters To Juliet – I came across this thanks to Netflix, and I thought it was super sweet. Set in Italy, an aspiring letter discovers the “letters to juliet” and gets herself involved in a long lasting love story.
  15. Valentine’s Day – A fun ensemble film from Garry Marshall that has a variety of stories and characters that all overlap.

There we have it… 15 films! There are so many I could have chosen from but I hope this has given you some ideas on what to watch. But what are your must-have chick flicks? Have I missed any gems? Let me know!

