I have always been a big kid at heart, as well as an animal lover, so for me this film was right up my street. An animated insight into what our pets get up to when we’re not around? What’s not to love! Here’s my review of The Secret Life Of Pets. 

The creators behind this film are Illumination, aka the people who created the now-iconic yellow creatures that are the Minions through the Despicable Me films.

While I am not the biggest fan of the Minion films (I mean, the first film was great, but I felt slightly switched off thereafter), there’s no denying that they give exciting animation that competes well with it’s competition and it gives something for everyone!

With this film, I was initially unsure on whether to bother with it, because upon seeing the advert, I questioned whether it was going to be one of those films where the best and funniest moments were sold to you in the trailer and the rest was just mediocre. However, I’m glad made the effort with it, as it exceeded my expectations.

The story was set in New York and lets you into the lives of several pets and what they get up to when us humans aren’t around, but it soon turns into a big adventure

I admit it was rather predictable, with elements of the story seemingly taken from similar animated animal orientated films (such as Oliver & Company, Lady & The Tramp, Hoodwinked and The Wild) however it still felt relatively original and showcased a great tale of friendship, loyalty, adventure and drama with plenty of laughs along the way. 

The cast too was rather impressive, as the likes of Albert Brooks (aka Marlin from Finding Nemo!), Kevin Hart, Lake Bell, Steve Coogan, Eric Stonestreet, Ellie Kemper and Jenny Slate were among the voices you could hear. And their voices brought their adorable, menacing and funny characters to life.

Also, there’s some great music; with a mix of catchy pop tunes, a subtle hint of classical and heavy rock and a score by Alexandre Desplat (who has done many scores, including the recent Florence Foster Jenkins and Suffragette). 

Overall, it was a fun, family-friendly film that anyone can enjoy and have some laughs at (and that pet owners can find a deeper emotional attachment to!). Worth a watch if you fancy some adorable, funny, light-hearted but action packed animation! ★★★

