This film has sparked some attention since its initial announcement – predominately from fans of the original cult film in an outcry of “why do you need to remake it?! “there’s already enough reboots?!”, “why do we need female Ghostbusters?!” and “the legacy of the original is in danger! However I think there was every reason to remake it, and here’s why…

Okay, technically I’m cheating slightly because I am in the somewhat minority of the people who have not seen the original 1984 Ghostbusters, and I also know that the film industry have a tendency to carry out a lot of reboots – so I guess I shouldn’t be judging too harshly, but I still think it’s great that it’s happened and want to throw my thoughts in the ring because…

  1. It gives females their own “superhero” role models – let’s be real, it’s not like we’re lacking in lead male roles; especially those of men that are big, tough and tearing the villains down. Why not let the girls have that too? Of course there are already great ladies like that – like Rey in Star Wars or Black Widow in The Avengers series for example – but they are mainly still supporting roles. Therefore I’m really pleased it’s breaking those boundaries – and let’s be real, they couldn’t have cast it better with Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Wiig, Leslie Jones and Kate McKinnon. (Ps you do get a bonus bit of eye candy with Chris Hemsworth as the hilarious assistant Kevin – in which Wiig’s character reflects many of our feelings!) I just found it really fun and exciting to have the roles reversed, as I’m sure many other females do too! 
  2. There’s nothing wrong with a reboot – As a said earlier, I know I’m cheating here because I haven’t seen the original, but as a general statement; a lot of reboots can be just as good, if not better! I mean look at the recent success of the live action version of Disney’s “The Jungle Book” – there’s room for both, and personally I think it should be exciting that there are chances for new developments and takes on these great stories, plus there’s the added bonus of opening them up to a new generation. Who’s to say we can’t enjoy BOTH?!
  3. Paul Feig is a genius – This man knows what he’s doing, and in terms of this genre, he’s the man behind some of my favourite films like Spy (2015), The Heat (2013) and Bridesmaids (2011), plus I admire him for doing films about kickass females!

As for the film itself, I really enjoyed it! 

To those that don’t know, Ghostbusters tells a story of four girls who are science geeks and paranormal enthusiasts, that band together to stop the otherworldly threat of a ghost invasion of Manhattan.

It had a perfect combination of punching action, quick-witted humour, feisty feminism and spooky ghosts and ghouls (and a terrifying man behind it all!). Plus the running message of it all that I took away, was that if you work hard enough, you can do anything. Sometimes not everyone will support or believe (in) you, but if you trust yourself and put your mind to it, you can do it.

These girls were not trusted in their beliefs, and were made a mockery of – but they proved everybody wrong in the end and became the heroes (well heroines!). 

As for the 4DX experience? 

Incase you haven’t heard about it, 4DX simply allows a motion picture presentation (or “film” in standard lingo) to be shown with special effects such as seat motion, wind, rain, fog, lights, and scent, along with the visual and audio.

I was a mixture of overly excited and mildly anxious at the prospect of this new experience, and annoyingly my anxiety showed when I got there (long story, I won’t get into it too much… but I was just anxious over the unknown basically) – but once I got over it, I was amazed.

You literally do feel everything – it was in 3D with heightens the realism in itself but then you get the addition of seat movement, air blasts, light flashes, fog, scent and more. It is actually rather difficult to describe, and I’m sure the intensity and special effects vary from film to film, but either way, I would say if you love cinema and technology, it is something you have to try at least once! It was such an exciting and memorable experience, and I probably would be prepared to do it again – especially as I know what to expect now so the fear element has hopefully weakened (though I don’t think I’ll be rushing off to a horror, sci-fi, extreme action or disaster film… as I’m not quite that brave even in standard screens!) 

Overall, the 4DX was an exciting and intensifying experience, and the film was utterly brilliant. Now ladies, let’s go kick some ass today! Who you gonna call? Ghostbusters! ★★★★

Out now in the UK | Out on Friday in the US 

 

