Halloween is fast approaching, and last year I made it my mission to watch as many Halloween themed films as I can (albeit not awfully scary ones, as I’m not one for intense horror/thriller films), as I realised I hadn’t actually seen that many. Therefore, based on my discoveries, I decided to compile a list of some fun Halloween themed films!

However, as well as that, I also got myself into the spirit of Halloween by creating a playlist of Halloween inspired songs, so I’ve got that to share with you too!

First up, we’ll look at films:

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas – This Tim Burton and Disney classic has always caused debate as to whether it is a Halloween or Christmas film, as it tells a story of a Halloween character wanting to hijack Christmas. I understand the confusion, but it was settled in 2015 by the Director claiming it is a Halloween film as this is what majority of the characters and themes represent – however it’s fun to watch at both occasions! It’s a brilliantly crafted stop-animation filled with fantasy, music, romance and drama that appeals to all the family.
  2. Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street – I really love Stephen Sondheim’s work and this is his musical based on the time-old tale of Sweeney Todd and Mrs Lovett, that ended up on-screen thanks to Tim Burton. This isn’t so family friendly in comparison to the others in my list, as some parts are slightly gory and scary, but on the whole it wasn’t as bad as I expected it to be as it felt very theatrical. You can’t really go wrong with the trio of Tim, Helena and Johnny, right?
  3. The Witches – An early 90s film based on the brilliant and beloved Roald Dahl book of the same name, where Anjelica Houston takes the lead of the terrifyingly-evil Grand High Witch who leads the other witches in disguise with their plan to wipe out children by turning them into mice! This was a book I loved as a kid, and I remember seeing bits of the film as a kid but couldn’t remember much so decided to re-watch in 2015, and it was one of those films that makes you think “this is a kids film?! I would have been terrified!” but it’s still a brilliant story and definitely worth giving it a watch.
  4. Frankenweenie – Another one of Tim Burton’s ‘spooky’ stop-motions, and this film is a twist on the classic tale of “Frankenstien” but made family friendly, as it is a young lad that brings his deceased dog and best friend ‘Sparky’ back to life. As a dog owner and animal lover myself, I found this film rather moving, and it reiterates the point of dog being mans best friend.
  5. The Rocky Horror Picture Show – I know I’ve spoken about this a few times before, but why not dig out the Rocky Horror inspired outfits and time warp your way through the Halloween season?
  6. Hocus Pocus – This daft but funny family friendly film has to make the list really, doesn’t it? It’s one of many 90s witch films, and another strand of the Disney belt but it’s great fun with some really funny quotes. Unlike many, I didn’t actually grow up with it, but since discovering it I can see why it’s been such a hit over the years.
  7. Also – A few more recommendations I would give to get you into that Halloween spirit are Corpse Bride, Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events, Death Becomes Her, Edward Scissorhands, Ghostbusters, and Monster House. 
  8. Plus – I haven’t yet seen these, but hope to see soon due to the fact I’ve heard good things: The Addams Family, Coraline, Witches of Eastwick, Beetlejuice, Hotel Transylvania and Practical Magic. Guess I better get watching!

Side note: Sometimes I wonder if October should just be renamed Tim Burton month? 

Now, if you simply want to blast some Halloween tunes, here’s my music playlist:

Let’s hope there’s something that will appeal to you; be it the films for a night in, or the Halloween playlist ready for the party. Let me know – are any of these your Halloween must-haves? Or am I missing out on some magic? Drop us a comment!

♥ MOLLY THE BLOGGER ♥

