As you all know by now, I love nothing more than catching up on films and TV shows, so I thought I’d give you another update on what I’ve been laying my eyes on as of late…

  1. A World Without Down’s Syndrome? (2016) – This is a BBC documentary, hosted by actress and comedian Sally Phillips. In all honesty, until I heard about this documentary, I was unaware she had a son with Down’s Syndrome. Like many BBC documentaries, it can be a tough watch at times but it’s real. It’s touching on a serious issue, in the most natural way. I loved hearing Sally’s story, and there was varying opinions from the people she spoke to (some of which, were clearly a challenge for her). I think not only does it open your eyes to the stigma around Down’s, but it links into so many other conditions too, be it other genetic conditions or even mental health. A worthy watch. Rating: 4/5. Available now on BBC iPlayer for a limited time or here on YouTube. As I couldn’t find a trailer, here’s a snippet: 
  2. Mothers & Daughters (2016) – I initially put this on as a bit of a “background film”, however I quickly found myself getting hooked. There seems to be an unintentional mild surge in films based around motherhood this year, yet I’ve enjoyed them all and this is no exception. I did find it somewhat similar to Mothers Day – I guess it was just bad luck they got released around the same time too. Although it’s also an ensemble film about mothers and daughters that all have very different relationships, it does seem to have cut out the crossovers that are usually found in films of this style. It’s a very well-made indie film, with a sweet storyline and interesting cast, I would also say its more of a drama than a comedy in comparison to MD – but still leaves you with a sweet and joyful sentiment. Rating: 4/5. Available now on UK Netflix.
  3. Dreamgirls (2006) – This is one film that has been on my “watch list” for years, probably too long in fact and if i’m honest, I don’t know why I kept putting it off. It tells a tale of three girls, who are on a mission to achieve their lifelong dreams of being performers, and there are many trials and tribulations along the way. It’s a story that seemingly reflects the reality of what part of the American 60s music scene was like. There’s some great drama and music in this film, and I had completely forgotten this is how Beyonce’s iconic hit “Listen” came around because I remember loving that song since it’s release. Now I can’t help but wish I had tickets for the West End show…  Rating: 3/5. Viewable on UK Netflix and Now TV. 
  4. Storks (2016) – I recently took further advantage of my cinema card and popped along to a preview screening of this new Warner Bros. animation. I’m embarrassed to admit I was actually the only person there without a child (don’t blame me, I’m still the youngest in my closest family/friends circle!) – hopefully I didn’t appear as a creep and merely just a big child (who was intrigued to hear Jennifer Aniston’s voice as an animated character – SORRY, I’m yet to catch up on The Iron Giant…).  While it was a good film, it wasn’t a great one. I mean sure, it’s a nice concept, which was simply light and fluffy family fun – but something just missed the mark. It gave me and those around me a few laughs and the right feelings in the right places (I mean, I still wanted to shed a tear at the end AND probably found the ‘wolf’ characters funnier than I should have) but nothing compared to the way the likes of Disney or Dreamworks can. But if you’re in need of a mushy “I don’t want to think about anything” type lazy Sunday film to entertain everyone in the family across the board, this will do a good enough job. Rating: 2.5/5. In UK cinemas now. 
  5. Framed (2016) – To put it simply, this was a project by the TV channel Alibi, where they held a Facebook Live crime drama, that was controlled by the public – where a security guard discovers a dead body and users watching get to control what happens next. This was a highly interesting and original idea, therefore I was really keen to see how it played out. But I was deeply disappointed to realise that just like that, I lost 50 minutes that I’ll never get back. While it was fun getting to vote on what he should do next, it was a really boring, drawn-out and badly acted piece. I could really see the potential in it working, but it just didn’t – and that was proven by the peak audience numbers not even reaching 400 people. A shame really, but maybe with a little more work, could it be the Crime Drama of the future? Rating: 1/5. Rewatch on Alibi’s Facebook.
  6. Also… due to the Autumn season appearing, there’s been an influx of Crime Dramas returning and it’s getting increasingly difficult to keep up! However, I recently finished DCI Banks (and I can’t quite get over my heartbreak…) and am watching The Fall (which I’m really enjoying) – but I talk a little more about those hereI have also began a rewatch of the British TV series sitcom Bad Education, I used to watch it on and off when it first aired so I thought I’d get through it properly on Netflix and I’m loving it!

That’s all for now! No doubt I’ll continue to try to keep working through the latest cinema listings as well as my watch lists and favourites; including digging out some of my Halloween themed flicks. Finally, as always don’t forget to drop me a comment below because I love getting your thoughts!

♥ MOLLY THE BLOGGER ♥

