La La Land is probably one of the most talked about films of the moment, with award buzz a plenty. As soon as I first came across the trailer, I was sold (and you may recall me giving it a mention in my ones to watch films of 2017); and I was keen to see what all the fuss was about as soon as possible, so I went to my local Unlimited Screening.

The story is about the lives of two young people, one an aspiring actress (Mia, Emma Stone) and the other a jazz pianist (Sebastian, Ryan Gosling). It tells of their relationship while both on a journey of chasing their dreams. It may sound simple and stereotypical, yet it’s far from that because while it is a romantic drama, it’s an innovative one.

It’s styled like a classical musical from the 50s or 60s, but a reimagining of that in the modern world. It’s unlike anything I’ve seen before. I didn’t grow up in that era of musicals and hollywood/jazz, sadly nor have I ever really got round to catching up on some of those classics like Singing In The Rain, which is one film I’ve seen it likened to, therefore it throws all of that into 2017.

The music is traditional, with very much a jazz theme, but elements of pop seep through. Much of the story is told not only through song, but the simplicity of the music and acting alone. This to me is such a brave move, because I know that won’t be for everyone, yet it seems to be winning over audiences and critics alike and I can see why, because I too have been won over. Not only that, the music is deeply charming; but I’ll warn you now, the tracks are so catchy you’re bound to leave the cinema humming along and tapping your toes!

The chemistry between Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling is something special. Having seen them in Crazy Stupid Love a while back, this is simply on another level of how great they are together. They take their characters on a real journey too, and really amplify how passionate their characters are about their dreams. This is probably the best I’ve seen them, and their voices will wow you; with Gosling’s deep and defined tones mixed with Stone’s sweet and delicate tones. Emma’s solo in particular, brought a tear to my eye.

Visually, it’s one of the most stunning films I’ve seen in a long time. There’s such an explosion of colour and creativity through the slick dance routines, effortless acting and exciting locations. It’s a real treat for the eye as well as the ears.

Unfortunately, the ending may cause divided opinion, and I myself am still undecided on how to feel. Sadly, I can’t say much more or it will be a major spoiler (hopefully this isn’t too much already!). However, the key thing that can be taken away from the film is that we mustn’t be afraid to chase our dreams and follow our hearts, and we have to do what is right in that moment.

Overall, I think this film is a breath of fresh air, and to me its super exciting to see a film like this. I know it won’t be for everyone, but I really hope it gets a fair round of appreciation because it definitely deserves it. If you love music, theatre/musicals and the golden age of Hollywood; I know you will adore this, but if you’re not sure that’s for you I at least challenge you to be like the makers of this film and take a chance because if anything, I think you should appreciate the beauty of it. It’s a classic, classy and cutting-edge romance drama musical – go and see it! Congratulations to all involved. ★★★★ 

Released on the 12th January in the UK / Out now in the USA. Here’s the trailer: 

Hope you enjoyed reading my thoughts on this film! As always, leave your comments below and let me know your thoughts. Hope to see you again soon…

♥ MOLLY THE BLOGGER ♥

 

 

