I thought I’d do a quick little piece on International Woman’s Day 2017, because I think this day deserves to be made a point of.

Following the Women’s Marches back in January, I wrote a little piece titled “Why I March…” because I felt inspired by those involved – and I feel the same sense of inspiration today.

I think back to the likes of the Suffragettes, and all the women who have fought for their rights; in whatever way, and on whatever scale. I think those who have fought, and continue to fight deserve to be celebrated.

This years IWD theme is #BeBoldForChange – and I think that’s not only relevant to this campaign but to life. We shouldn’t be afraid to seek change if we aren’t happy with our situations. A few ideas of how we can stand up include: challenging bias and inequality, campaign against violence,  celebrate women’s achievements or champion women’s education.

Last year I also highlighted some of my favourite “female-power” films, and I thought I’d revisit that with a few updates that may help you celebrate today and give you that little reminder of some great female-centric stories:

 

  1. Suffragette (2015) 
  2. Made in Dagenham (2010)
  3. Hidden Figures (2017) 
  4. Mamma Mia! (2008)
  5. Waitress (2007)
  6. Calendar Girls (2003) 
  7. Hairspray (2007)
  8. Mulan (1998) 
  9. St Trinians (2007)
  10. Miss Congeniality (2000)
  11. Ghostbusters (2016)
  12. Frozen (2013)

If you need music to get you motivated and help you celebrate, I have a Female Power playlist on my Spotify that may just give you a little boost for today!

There’s a great short video from Action Aid UK that gives you a few things to think about:

There’s so much that has been achieved for women over the years, but there’s still more work to be done. Don’t you think?

I apologise for the slight briefness of this post, but I just wanted to highlight International Women’s Day 2017, and hopefully give you a few things to think about and for you to have a little fun with the films and music I’ve recommended.

For more information on International Women’s Day visit: www.internationalwomensday.com.

♥ MOLLY THE BLOGGER ♥

