I briefly mention this album in my recent gig review, however in a bid to avoid any surprises of the gig (as well as save on postage) I decided to wait until the gig to purchase Rachel Tucker’s limited edition On The Road album; and a day later I listened to it in full and decided to jot down my thoughts.

The album is unique because it’s a limited release that is only available on physical CD, which can be purchased online or at one of her shows; but once it’s sold out, that’s it! Which I think is a cool idea, and majority of the album tracks are part of her recent tour setlist.

Opening the album is the lively and upbeat Hand in Hand, it’s quite simply a perfect opening to the album and I don’t think it needs much further of an explanation. Following that, we mellow it down to a very classical/jazz sounding version of Where is Love? (from Oliver!) which seems the perfect homage to her time on “I’d Do Anything”.

Continuing the mellower theme we are next faced with When She Loved Me (from Toy Story 2), which is a song that many have shed tears to, as we are reminded of our childhood in a bittersweet way. Other ballads include: her duet with Lee Mead of You Matter To Me (Waitress)which opens with Mead’s soft and calm vocals and while I’m not overly familiar with Mr Mead, elements of his voice reminded me of Ben Forster whom I’m a fan of. Together they create a beautiful take on this gorgeous song. I Can’t Make You Love Me is emotive and covers a subject matter that I’m sure relates to many of us, but to me it felt one of the weaker tracks on the album. The Man That Got Away was a song I first became familiar with through Dianne Pilkington’s album, however Tucker’s version is just as good and it’s a very classically theatrical tune that is much-loved.

To balance out the slightly sombre songs, the fast paced, swinging jazz sounds in Miss Otis Regrets is like a punch in the face as it instantly makes you want to dance!

I’m Falling is an original song, parts of which were written when she was 16. Personally, I think it’s a beautiful song, that comes very much from the heart; and is about the universal topic of love/relationships.

Her take on No Good Deed from Wicked is very different to how it’s performed in the show, and in fact it’s quite a difficult song to take away from the show as it doesn’t have a great context away from the show (despite it being one of my favourite theatre tracks). Tucker makes it much slower paced, yet with a touch of a rocky edge and it comes across even more dramatic and emotional with it’s slightly drawn out vocals. Toning it down once again is a beautiful and calming cover of Elton John’s Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, which although more of a ballad, it’s hard to not bop your head along to it.

Closing the album is a man she’s covered before – proving she’s clearly a fan. It’s her take on Ed Sheeran’s Castle On A Hill, which she makes very much her own and is toe-tappingly good with an irresistible “ohhh oh ohhh oh” chant.

Overall, it seems the album was slightly rushed, however it’s the perfect album to listen to when you want some easy listening theatrical classic/jazz sounds as Tucker has effortless vocals. It’s slick, varied and just great! I would highly recommend grabbing this album while you can… but don’t delay as it won’t be around forever!

For more information or to purchase a copy visit racheltucker.co.uk.

♥ MOLLY THE BLOGGER ♥

